Forge Essentials – we’re still around, and here’s why.

I’ve had to say this a million times, and I will say it as much as I have to.

Forge Essentials IS NOT DEAD.

There, said. The full story, after the break.

After completing the FE 1.6.4 update, a while ago (start of this year, actually), Abrar wanted to throw out all the current FE code, and start afresh on a clean slate. He later got himself involved in ForgeGradle, and left the FE team. With the rest of the team members being AFK or not being able to contribute, I was the only one left, and so I had to take over the reins.

The old FE code was extremely buggy. Despite that, I did not have the time to work out how to rewrite every module, every line of code (I’m a relatively busy high school student, for those of you unaware), so I decided to just keep the old code around, and whip it into shape. This is what became FE 1.3 and its major backend changes (some of you readers might remember all the pre-releases I posted on this blog). That was when Minecraft 1.7.10 had just been released.

Due to the gap between FE 1.2 and 1.3 (1.2 was for 1.5.2, and 1.3 for 1.6.4), many people had the idea that FE was being discontinued. It is not. It just took me a very long time to get FE 1.3 stable and ready for consumption. As of now, I’m still working on the 1.7.10 update, and RlonRyan is busy adding small, not-so-insignificant features. Naturally, like an open source project, I accept PRs to FE.

The journey for FE was never easy. We were pioneers, journeying though the unknown (Forge for 1.5.2 and 1.6.4 lacked a lot of the hooks we needed, so we had to be very liberal with ASM), and of course, the condition of the codebase was rather deplorable. But anyway, we’re still here, still alive, and still powering servers out there!

This entry was posted in forgeessentials. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment