FE and SpongeAPI – my stand

Many people (especially Abrar) have asked me to clarify my position regarding FE and the upcoming SpongeAPI.

So, in point form:

  • I MAY be considering to port FE to the Sponge API – this is not a definite yes, for reasons stated below!
    • Even if I do so, as FE hooks quite deeply into Minecraft code, one of the key features of SpongeAPI (MC version independence) is unusable by FE.
    • Due to having to change the underlying API that FE is built on, it’ll be A LOT of work. In some cases, SpongeAPI has a completely different way of doing things than Forge. This is not something I’m very willing to do.
    • Sponge is still a very young API (a few days old as of this post), and has not matured enough to be comparable to Minecraft Forge in terms of API functions.
  • I’m trying to avoid having additional dependencies – ideally, you should be able to run FE on a server with only Minecraft Forge installed.
  • If I choose not to port FE, compatibility with SpongeAPI will take a back seat, in the event where I have to patch minecraft code.
  • If I DO choose to port FE, there will most likely still be a dependency on Minecraft Forge, as some things we do mean that I simply cannot abstract everything away to pure SpongeAPI.
    • This means that FE will likely NOT work on other implementations of the SpongeAPI (Glowstone, for example)
    • This also means that FE will most likely remain an FML @Mod despite using the SpongeAPI, as I don’t want to use @Plugin and then have to deal with a shitton of issues of people not running FE on MinecraftForge/Sponge.

Of course, it is still too early to make decisions like these, seeing as Sponge will most likely be available for Minecraft 1.8 and above only. But I think it’s better to always plan ahead. Feel free to ask any questions in the comment box below and I’ll try to answer.

EDIT: We are exploring the possibility of NOT porting FE, however to write a bridge plugin that allows FE to be utilized by SpongeAPI plugins.

About luacs1998

Light novel translator, Minecraft modder and community observer. Also a former lead developer of ForgeEssentials, now a member of the BurstLinkers translation team. "The last enemy that shall be destroyed is death."
This entry was posted in forgeessentials. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FE and SpongeAPI – my stand

  1. Pingback: Bukkit, Sponge, Forge, and what’s FE got to do with all these? | luacs1998

Leave a Reply

